Message sent from:

St Mary's School Governors

The role of the school governors is to set strategic direction, to hold school leaders to account for improving performance – by acting as a critical friend – and to make sure money is well spent. As a voluntary aided, Roman Catholic school, our governing body is made up of:

  • 7 Foundation Governors: appointed by the school’s founding body – the Diocese of Clifton
  • 2 Parent Governors: elected parents of children at the school
  • 1 Staff Governor: member of the school staff
  • 1 LA Governor: appointed by the LA
  • The Head Teacher
  • 2 Associate Governors: members of the school community (appointed by the rest of the governing body) to contribute specifically on issues related to their particular area of expertise.

The full governing body meets approximately 4 times a year where the on-going business of committees, the governing body and the school are discussed, reported on and where decisions are taken by a majority vote. Most of the work of the governors is done at committee level. Our governor committees are:

  • Finance
  • Buildings
  • Curriculum/ Admissions
  • Personnel

Governors (November 2017)


Dave Worden –  Chair/Foundation Governor

Lisa Slater ­– Vice-Chair/Foundation Governor

Terrence Bletso – Foundation Governor

Laura Stotesbury – Foundation Governor

Mark Lunn – Foundation Governor

Mgnr Jeremy Rigden – Foundation Governor

Vacancy – Foundation Governor

Andrew Tarrant –  Head Teacher

Christina Luque – Staff Governor

Kelly Burge – Parent Governor

Ed Bodiam – Parent Governor

Vacancy – LA Governor

Kathryn Moore – Associate Governor

Caroline Moore – Associate Governor


Governors who have stepped down from the governing body in the past 12 months:

James Read

Seamus Brogan

Anthony McNiff

Lisa Brett

David Llewelyn

Hit enter to search